Spitting Image

They say that I am the spitting image of my earthly father. I could walk down the street, and people would say, “That’s Walter’s daughter. ” I used to take pride in having his imprint on me. There was no doubt who I belonged too and whose I was. Now, fully grown, I’m still much like his physical image, and I’m very much his daughter in many ways.

However, all this brings to mind my Heavenly Father. Do people easily recognize the family resemblance? Do I portray His Image? These are the questions of my soul this day. Am I a breath of Heaven to the dying world? When they see me, do they see Jesus?

Verses to Consider

Genesis 1:27
New International Version (NIV)
27 So God created mankind in his own image,
in the image of God he created them;
male and female he created them.

Acts 17:28
New Living Translation (NLT)
28 For in him we live and move and exist. As some of your[a] own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’

Colossians 1:15
New International Version (NIV)
The Supremacy of the Son of God

15 The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation.

Romans 7:21
New International Version (NIV)
21 So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me.

Ephesians 2:10
New International Version (NIV)
10 For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Galatians 3:26-27
New International Version (NIV)
26 So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith, 27 for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ.

Philippians 1:6
New International Version (NIV)
6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

Philippians 2:13
New International Version (NIV)
13 for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

Psalm 138:8
New Living Translation (NLT)
8 The Lord will work out his plans for my life—
for your faithful love, O Lord, endures forever.
Don’t abandon me, for you made me.

I am His, and He is completing His work. I bear His image, and He will accomplish His purpose! I will be transformed into the image of Christ! Hallelujah! I am not who I was and not yet who I will be! Through faith (which includes obedience), I can answer the questions I posed in the affirmative. I need to trust, obey and listen.

This entry was posted in Faith in Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

