His Story

My story, which is really His Story, is one of a journey from head knowledge to heart knowledge.  I grew up knowing about Jesus and attending church.  If you asked me, I said that I was a Christian.  I had done all the “right” things, but I knew something was missing.  As a teenager, I felt God calling.  The Holy Spirit was softening my heart.  Through Billy Graham movies and attending a Bible camp, I moved closer to God, but I was still in the intellectual mode.  In college, I was not faithful, but I could still feel the urging of the Holy Spirit.  Fast forward to my twenties and marriage to a wonderful Christian man.  We were in full time Christian service at a home for abandoned, abused and neglected children when I knew that I could not hide any longer.  God was calling, and He would not be avoided.  I had to make a decision.  Would I really answer His call or would I continue to play Christian?  I said, “Yes, Lord, I come.”  This was in the privacy of my bedroom, but I made it public in church that week.  The change was real.  I had a change of heart and now over 30 years later, He is still leading, wooing and conforming me into His image.  I am not where I will be but I know as Philippians 1:6 asserts that He who has begun a good work in me will bring it to completion in Christ Jesus.  With David in Psalm 138, I can say, “You will do everything you have promised; Lord, your love is eternal.  Complete the work that you have begun.”  Glory to God for His gift, Jesus Christ!

This entry was posted in Faith in Christ and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

