Who’s The Boss?

I am contemplating the sermon from Joel Frederick’s  at 9/30/2012 Grace Life Baptist Church. The sermon taken from Mark 11:27-33 makes you think about and answer the question, “Who’s the boss?” At first blush, you might readily say, “Of course, Jesus is boss.”  However, if Jesus is not LORD of everything and He doesn’t control ALL your life, then, you have to think about your answer.  It seems like a no brainer to have the Creator of everything control everything, but the sticking part comes when you start thinking about what that means. Have you really relinquished control? Are you really in it for a relationship with the King of Kings or are you in it for what He can give you – fire insurance?

Mark 11:27-33

New International Version (NIV)

The Authority of Jesus Questioned

27 They arrived again in Jerusalem, and while Jesus was walking in the temple courts, the chief priests, the teachers of the law and the elders came to him. 28 “By what authority are you doing these things?” they asked. “And who gave you authority to do this?”

29 Jesus replied, “I will ask you one question. Answer me, and I will tell you by what authority I am doing these things. 30 John’s baptism—was it from heaven, or of human origin? Tell me!”

31 They discussed it among themselves and said, “If we say, ‘From heaven,’ he will ask, ‘Then why didn’t you believe him?’ 32 But if we say, ‘Of human origin’ …” (They feared the people, for everyone held that John really was a prophet.)

33 So they answered Jesus, “We don’t know.”

Jesus said, “Neither will I tell you by what authority I am doing these things.”

Some posts from others on the subject:

We’re create to reflect the glory of God, to be His image bearers, to shine the spotlight on Jesus and His glory.
When we shake our fist at God and say we’re going to do it our way, we’re being insolent and defying God’s glory.
-Mary Kassian, from True Woman ’12

Mary Kassian looks at Isaiah for 6 woes (warnings), because it is good to hear about the trouble you might get into.
Isaiah’s 6 commons woes:
1. Materialism
2. Indulgence
3. Cynicism
4. Switcheroo of moral standard
5. Intellectualism
6. Conformity

“What is the greatest desire and longing of your heart? In the answer to that question lies the explanation for much of what we do–our choices, our priorities, our use of time, the way we spend money, the way we respond to pressure, whom or what we love.”
-Nancy Leigh DeMoss, from A Place of Quiet Rest

“If I accomplish one goal in my life, if nothing else gets done, this is the one thing that really matters to me–this is my highest goal and my number one priority: to live in the presence of the Lord, to look on His beauty, and to learn from Him.”
-Nancy Leigh DeMoss, from a Place of Quiet Rest

“We seek the things that matter most to us. Who or what are you seeking?”
4 things that keep us from seeking the Lord: Self-sufficiency, busyness, distractions, and substitutes.
-Nancy Leigh DeMoss, from True Woman ’12: Seeking Him Together for Spiritual Awakening

I am so guilty of giving lip service to the Lord, but in my actions I show disobedience.  I, also, show that Jesus is not my top priority.

The remedy is whole hearted love and devotion to the Lover of My Soul.  Am I ready? Will I trust? Do I fear people more than I fear God? These are sobering questions!

Jeremiah 29: 11-14 NLT

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. 12 In those days when you pray, I will listen. 13 If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. 14 I will be found by you,” says the Lord. “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes. I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and will bring you home again to your own land.

This entry was posted in Faith in Christ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who’s The Boss?

  1. Rebecca Wicks says:

    Both entries were a blessing to me this morning. Thanks for sharing. I am looking forward to reading others that you will be posting.

  2. Thank you, Rebecca. I think this new venture will probably bless me more than others. J

Leave a Reply

